The giantXtour travels throughout Switzerland since 23 years now ...

The giantxtour was born in the Waldensian college of Echallens with, at the time, the pedagogical principle of using several simultaneous school activities. The concept aimed to place students on a very long-term project (12 months). At the time, it had no vocation to be perpetuated. But already 23 years and as many demonstrations have passed since then...

 

The first edition, stamped giant cross, was launched in 1998, on the slopes of the Leysin ski area. The Vaud ski resort welcomed 80 schoolchildren participating in a snowboarding event. Following its initial success, the competition quickly spread to French-speaking Switzerland and then to the Bernese Oberland. The rest of German-speaking Switzerland followed a few years later.

 

The Freestyle Big Air was added to the initial Boardercross in 2003, the Skiercross in 2005 and the Freestyle Slopestyle in 2015.  In addition, since 2013, GXT has enjoyed a partnership with EPFL, adding a third category to the two already existing ones. Today, the event is a spectacle, a must-see event in winter. It sets the pace for the life of the partner resorts and the final, the highlight of the season, always attracts a large audience at the end of March.

  • Facebook - GiantXTour
  • Twitter - GiantXTour
  • Instagram - GiantXTour

©2019 by David Cleres

Le giantXtour traverse la Suisse depuis 23 ans déjà ...

Notre

histoire

OUR TEAM

Le giantxtour est né au sein du collège vaudois d’Echallens avec, à l’époque, comme principe pédagogique de faire appel à plusieurs activités scolaires simultanées. Le concept avait pour ambition de placer dans la durée des élèves sur un projet de très longue haleine (12 mois). Il n’avait alors aucune vocation à être pérennisé. Mais déjà 23 années et autant de manifestations se sont écoulées depuis …

 

La première édition estampillé giant cross a vu le jour en 1998, sur les pentes du domaine skiable de Leysin. La station de ski vaudoise accueillait 80 écoliers participants à une épreuve de snowboard. Suite à son succès initial, la compétition s’est rapidement étendue à la Suisse romande puis l’Oberland Bernois. Le reste de la Suisse alémanique suivant quelques années plus tard.

 

Au Boardercross initial, est venu se greffer le Freestyle Big Air en 2003, le Skiercross en 2005 et le Freestyle Slopestyle dès 2015.  De plus, depuis 2013, le GXT jouit d’un partenariat avec l’EPFL ajoutant ainsi une troisième catégorie aux deux déjà existantes. Aujourd’hui, la manifestation est un spectacle, un événement incontournable de l’hiver. Elle rythme la vie des stations partenaires et la finale, point d’orgue de la saison, attire toujours fin mars un nombreux public.

29512620_2103143823045861_29167313575607
Philippe Wenger Organisation
Sam Troilo
Freestyle Chief
François Vermeulen Organisation 
Emilie Aubry 
Cross Chief
  • Facebook - GiantXTour
  • Twitter - GiantXTour
  • Instagram - GiantXTour
Réservé au staff

©2020 by GiantXTour